Coronavirus in Georgia

Buy travel medical insurance only 9.25 USD/week



Government hotline


Ministry of Health


Official information

Know how it spreads
• There is currently no vaccine to prevent coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19).
• The best way to prevent illness is to avoid being exposed to this virus.
• The virus is thought to spread mainly from person-to-person.
• Between people who are in close contact with one another (within about 6 feet).
• Through respiratory droplets produced when an infected person coughs, sneezes or talks.
• These droplets can land in the mouths or noses of people who are nearby or possibly be inhaled into the lungs.
• Some recent studies have suggested that COVID-19 may be spread by people who are not showing symptoms.
Everyone Should
• Washing your hands regularly with an alcohol-based sanitizer, or with soap and water.
• Maintaining distance of at least 1 meter (3 feet) between yourself and anyone who is coughing or sneezing
• Avoiding touching your eyes, nose and mouth
• Seeking medical care immediately if you are showing symptoms

While on the plane
• Strictly follow the rules of personal hygiene:
• Wash hands with soap and water before meals, or use an alcohol-based hand rub solution;
• After using the toilet, wash hands with soap and water, or use an alcohol-based hand rub solution;
• Avoid close contact with sick people with fever and cough;
• If you become ill during your journey, immediately notify the crew and request medical care
What countries will enjoy open borders with Georgia
At this point, Georgia is opening its borders without reservation to 5 of the 27 EU member states, namely Germany, France, Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.

Citizens/permanent residents of said 5 countries can use only air travel for any kind of visit to Georgia, traveling from one of said 5 countries. For example, Latvian citizens/permanent residents can travel from Germany to Georgia without reservation.

Before crossing Georgia’s border, they are obligated to fill in a special electronic form and describe their 14-day travel history prior to arriving in Georgia, also the location of their stay in Georgia, contact information, and others.

With their consent, a PCR test at the state’s expense will be performed at the airport.

If thermal screening on the border reveals a temperature higher than 370C, visitors will be hospitalized.

Citizens of the EU member states (Italy, Cyprus, Greece, Spain, Sweden, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, and Croatia) listing Georgia as a green country (besides the 5 countries above), or of those enforcing different types of restrictions, will be able to enter Georgia as long as they complete a 14-day quarantine period at their own expense.

If citizens/permanent residents of the 5 countries above arrive by air from an EU state enjoying conditional open borders with Georgia (Italy, Cyprus, Greece, Spain, Sweden, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, and Croatia), or from countries that do not enjoy open borders with Georgia, or if their 14-day travel history includes countries other than the 5 listed above, will be asked to complete a 14-day quarantine period at their own expense.

As for other EU member states that have not opened borders to Georgia (Slovenia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Malta, Slovakia, Finland, Hungary, Norway, Czechia, and Croatia), the status quo will be maintained by Georgia as well.

Importantly, business trips from all countries of the world will be allowed without reservation, based on a completed special form and coordination with relevant sectoral agencies. Business visitors to Georgia are obligated to complete a PCR test for COVID-19 at their own expense every 72 hours, or complete a mandatory 14-day quarantine, also at their own expense. That does not apply to the citizens/residents of the 5 countries enjoying unconditional border reopening with Georgia.

The Government of Georgia continues active cooperation with partner EU member states. Based on the relevant recommendation, the rules for entering Georgia and for Georgian citizens entering various EU states will be reviewed jointly once every other week.
Is PCR testing required before departing for Georgia?

No, it is not. Laboratory reports from abroad do not cancel out mandatory PCT testing and/or 14-day quarantine in Georgia
What approach applies to non-EU member states?
Georgia does not reopen borders with these countries, with business visit being the only exception.
Are citizens of EU member states enjoying border reopening with Georgia entitled to enter the country by land?
Land border checkpoints remain closed.
Citizens/residents of what countries will be required to complete a 14-day quarantine period at their own expense upon arrival in Georgia?
Italy, Cyprus, Greece, Spain, Sweden, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, and Croatia.
What types/methods of testing are performed at the airport?
PCR testing is performed at the airport.
How soon are testing results revealed?
PCR test results are in within 24 hours. In the meantime, self-isolation is recommended.
How are test results delivered?
Information about test results is sent to travelers via e-mail within 24 hours. In case of positive results, a telephone communication will be carried out by NCDC, and infected persons will be transported to a relevant medical facility.
Is it a paid test?
PCR tests at the airport are financed by the state only for citizens/residents of the 5 countries enjoying open borders with Georgia without reservation.
Can citizens of the 5 EU member states above fill in the form at Georgia’s airport?

Yes, they can.